1992 Dave Amdahl  Stevens Point.gifDave Amdahl graduated from John Marshall High School, Rochester, MN in 1961 where he competed in football, wrestling and track. During his sophomore year, his love for the sport of wrestling became apparent, due largely to the influence of his high school coach, John Philo. As a senior he was conference and district champion as well as outstanding wrestler.

Dave attended Luther College, Rochester Junior College and the University of Wisconsin-River Falls where he received his bachelor's degree in 1966. He placed 2nd in the conference as a freshman, was a conference champion at Rochester, placed 2nd as a junior and was sidelined with a knee injury as a senior.

During college Dave began officiating and has continued to officiate at all levels, including the NAIA Tournament and UWSP matches for the last 30 years.

Dave's first teaching and coaching job was in Ellsworth where he learned the ropes from head coach Kirby Symes. His most valuable lessons from Kirby were: the individual is more important than winning; follow the rules; and be organized.

In 1970 Dave went to River Falls to teach and coach. He has served as district representative to the Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association, member of the WIAA Rules Advisory, started the River Falls Wrestling Booster Club, and organized and ran numerous youth wrestling tournaments.

In his first year at River Falls Dave coached his team to a Sectional Championship, placed third in the state and had two state champions, Paul Cudd, Jr. and Mike Jenkins.

Dave and his family moved to Stevens Point in 1985 where he coached at Stevens Point High School. His team placed third in the state in 1986 and he coached another state champion, Rodney Roth.

Dave's coaching career boasts four conference championships, 4 regional championships, 3 sectional championships and his teams have placed 3rd in the state 3 times. He has coached 6 state champions, 50 conference champions, 54 regional champions, 21 sectional champions, 50 state qualifiers and 28 state place winners.